Existing UK trade agreements with non-EU countries

Find out about the trade agreements the UK has already signed and our discussions with countries the EU has a trade agreement with.

Trade agreements until 31 December 2020

The UK has left the EU. The Withdrawal Agreement sets out how the UK is able to continue to be covered by EU-third country trade agreements until 31 December 2020.

On this basis, EU trade agreements can continue to apply to the UK.

Where EU trade agreements apply, UK and EU content will continue to count toward the rules of origin requirements in EU trade agreements until 31 December 2020, in exactly the same way as now.

The EU has issued a notification to third countries outlining this approach.

If you are having problems trading during the transition period, please contact your local international trade adviser.

Trade agreements from 1 January 2021

After 31 December 2020, EU trade agreements will not apply to the UK. This will be the case regardless of any agreement with the EU.

The UK is seeking to reproduce the effects of existing EU agreements for when they no longer apply to the UK.

This will ensure continuity of trading arrangements for UK businesses.

Trade agreements that have been signed

Agreements with the following countries and trading blocs are expected to take effect when existing EU trade agreements no longer apply to the UK, from 1 January 2021.

Country or bloc Total UK trade with countries, 2019 (£ million) (1)
Andean countries (2) 2,876
Canada 22,418
CARIFORUM trade bloc 3,046
Central America 1,411
Chile 2,171
Côte d’Ivoire 398
Eastern and Southern Africa (ESA) trade bloc 1,569
Egypt 3,503
Faroe Islands 293
Georgia 183
Iceland and Norway 26,747
Israel 5,014
Jordan 548
Kenya (3) 1,407
Kosovo 10
Lebanon 849
Liechtenstein 159
Morocco 2,251
North Macedonia 1,774
Pacific states 196
Palestinian Authority 9
South Korea 11,777
Southern Africa Customs Union and Mozambique (SACUM) trade bloc 11,875
Switzerland 37,063
Tunisia 561
Ukraine 1,566


1) Source of trade statistics: ONS UK total trade: all countries, non-seasonally adjusted April to June 2020.

2) After 31 December 2020, it is expected an arrangement will be in place prior to this agreement taking effect.

3) This agreement is open to accession by other members of East African Community.

Trade agreement with Japan

The UK has signed a free trade agreement with Japan.

The UK-Japan Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (CEPA) was signed on 23 October 2020. Find out more about this agreement.

Trade agreements still in discussion

The following agreements are still under discussion with countries where there are existing EU trade agreements in place.

If an agreement is not in force by 1 January 2021:

Country or bloc Status of discussions
Albania Engagement ongoing
Algeria (1) Engagement ongoing, agreement is not expected to be in place for 1 January 2021. Trade expected to take place under WTO terms (Generalised Scheme of Preferences for imports).
Bosnia and Herzegovina (1) Engagement ongoing, agreement is not expected to be in place for 1 January 2021. Trade expected to take place under WTO terms.
Cameroon Engagement ongoing
Ghana Engagement ongoing
Mexico Engagement ongoing
Moldova Engagement ongoing
Montenegro Engagement ongoing
Serbia (1) Engagement ongoing, agreement is not expected to be in place for 1 January 2021. Trade expected to take place under WTO terms.
Singapore Engagement ongoing
Turkey Engagement ongoing
Vietnam Engagement ongoing


1) Algeria, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Serbia are not members of the World Trade Organisation. UK exports will be subject to partner country national legislation.

Trade agreement discussions with countries in Customs Unions with the EU

Andorra, San Marino and Turkey are part of Customs Unions with the EU. The UK’s future trading relationship with these countries will be influenced by the agreement the UK reaches with the EU.

Mutual recognition agreements

A mutual recognition agreement (MRA) is one in which countries recognise the results of one another’s conformity assessments.

A conformity assessment is a set of processes that confirm whether a product meets the specified legal requirements. This can include testing, inspection, and certification.

The UK has signed MRAs that replicate the effect of existing EU arrangements. These are expected to take effect from 1 January 2021. The withdrawal agreement allows for the EU’s arrangements to continue to apply to the UK until then.

The UK has signed MRAs with:

MRA coverage in trade agreements

The UK’s trade agreement with Switzerland incorporates elements of the EU-Switzerland MRA.

The UK’s trade agreement with Israel covers conformity assessment of industrial products. This means that existing arrangements with Israel will continue after 31 December 2020.

The UK-Japan CEPA replicates the effects of the existing EU-Japan MRA.

More information


Find out:

Published 29 January 2020
Last updated 9 December 2020 
Share this article